The Eigth Raft Race. 1993

The Cruden Bay City Glitter Band.


Gordon Mackay

Ewan Robertson

Bon Arvel

Malcolm Davies

Ian Hastie

Graeme Barbie

Jim Gardiner

Kenny Spronston

Mark Dunn

Andy Dunn

Result: The Winner of the Most Creative Raft


The Ythan Raft Races were always an enjoyable outing for lodge members and family but the lead up to the day often provided as much fun and laughter as the event itself. During the lead up to the event the lodge would often issue humorous press releases to the Buchanie and the Ellon Times who were always glad to support us in our pre race hype.

On the year that the Lodge entered as the Cruden bay City Glitter Band they based their raft on the all to well known 70’s glam rock style of band and in order to spin their story up a bit they sent a letter to Bill Smith the Raft Race organiser requesting that lodge be issued with all the entry numbers between 70 and 79, (rafts normally only get one entry number per raft!

The logic behind this request was to enable the lodges raft to be known as the 70’s raft!

Bill Smith responded to the request with a razor sharp response which still brings a smile to my face every time I read it, click here to see what Bill said!